Ayurveda-Ayu: means Life and Veda means Science or knowledge. Ayurveda is the most ancient science of healing which enhances longevity. It has influenced many of the older traditional methods of healing including Tibetan, Chinese and Greek medicine. Ayurveda is considered by many as the “mother of healing.” Ayurveda remains as an influential system of medicine in South Asia. The earliest literature of Ayurveda appears during the Vedic period in India. Susrutha Samhitha and Charaka Samhitha were the influential works on traditional medicine during this era. Ayurveda is considered to be a form of complementary and alternative medicine within the western world, where several of its methods, such as the use of herbs, massages and yoga as exercise or alternative medicine are applied on their own as a form of complementary and alternative treatment.

Pancha Maha Bhoothas

According to Ayurveda, each and every living and non-living thing in the universe is composed of 5 eternal elements- water, air, fire, earth and ether. In the case of a complex, multi- cellular organism as a human being for instance, ether or akash corresponds to spaces within the body (the spaces within the srothas or minute channels); air or vayu denotes the movement (essentially muscular); fire or agni controls enzymes (intelligence, digestive system, metabolism); water or jal is in the body fluids (as plasma, saliva, digestive juices) and earth or prithvi manifests itself in the solid structure of the body.


Dooshayanthi Ithi Dosha

The five elements are coded into three biological forces, which govern all life processes. These three forces are known as the three doshas- Vatha, Pitha and Kapha. They regulate every physiological and psychological process in the living organism. The Thridoshas destroy and support the body when they are abnormal and normal respectively. When this elements support the body they are known with the term “Doshas” and when these elements subject to disease or destruction of the body is termed “Dooshyas”.


Depending on the doshas which are predominant in the sperm and ovum at the time of their union, in the food and activities of the pregnant women, uterus and season - 10 kinds of human constitution are produced.
V, P, K, VP, PV, PK, KP, VK, KV, VPK.
Doshas not only determine the characteristics of our constitutions and the type of illness to which we are most likely to succumb, they also determine the features that make us unique -like the color of our hair, our body shape, our cravings for food and what foods we should eat.


According to Ayurveda, diagnosis is based on mainly three factors.

1. Darsana - Observation. Closely observing the person to see how he or she is responding to the situations, looking the color of the skin, hair, eyes and tongue, the way in which they are moving etc:

2. Sparsana - Examining the body.
Auscultation- Examine the internal body sounds with the help of Stethoscope.
Palpation- Examine the size of the internal organs to find out any swelling or growth with hands.
Percussion- To find out retention of internal fluid or gas formation and distension, we are following this method by tapping with fingers.

3. Prasna- Interrogation.
To find out more details about Person, Family, Past and present illness we are providing a questioner to answer.

© Copyright 2015. All rights reserved. Developed by Netindia